Baguio’s Dominguez, Macario help taekwondo Ph team to 5 silver, 3 bronze in Korea meet

KOBE. Kobe Macario, right, during the awards ceremony of the 2022 Asian Taekwondo Championship in Chuncheon, South Korea. Photo from his Facebook Page

Baguio djinns Jeordan Dominguez and Justin Kobe Macario helped the Philippine taekwondo poomsae team to a five silver and three bronze medals performance in the 2022 Asian Taekwondo Championship in recently in Chuncheon City, South Korea.

Dominguez and Macario joined hands with Darius Venerable, Juvenile Crisostomo and Janna Dominque-Oliva to secure the silver medal in the free style poomsae mixed team over-17.

Macario then joined with Crisostomo to bag the bronze medal in the freestyle poomsae pair over-17 event.

Oliva and Venerable also took the silver medals in the freestyle poomsae over 17 in the female and male division, while Rodolfo Reyes, Jr. was the second best in the same category for males 30 years and older.

The fifth silver medal was secure by the trio of  Joaquin Tuzon, Enrico Mella, and Patrick King Perez in recognized poomsae team male under 30.

Their female counterparts composed of Angelica Gaw, Aidaine Laxa and Patrick King Perez, meanwhile, settled for the bronze medal.

Reyes and Jocel Ninobla added another bronze medal in the recognized poomsae pair under 30.

The Asian championship is one of the two events the Smart/MVP Sports Foundation National Kyorugi and Poomsae Team is set to compete in said city in Korea.

The 2022 Asian Taekwondo Championships was scheduled last June 22 to 27 and the Chuncheon Korea Open Taekwondo Championships that started last June 29 is set to end today, July 5.

The Philippine Taekwondo sent a delegate of 28  comprised of five officials and 23 players (10 Kyorugi and 13 Poomsae).

The team supported by the Philippine Sports Commission, Philippine Olympic Committee, and MILO is composed of Venerable, Macario, Dominguez, Reyes, Jr., Arven Alcantara, Dave Cea, Isarel Cesar Cantos, Christian Al Dela Cruz (coach, Kyorugi), Paul Romero (coach, Kyorugi), Raul Samson (head of team), Rani Ann Ortega (Coach, Poomsae), Joseph Chua, Joaquin Dominic Tuzon, Raphael Enrico Mella, Patrick King Perez, and Olympian Kurt Bryan Barbosa form Abra.

Also with the team are Kirstie Elaine Alora, Sharifa Vianca Dela Cruz, Laeia Simoune Soria, Angelica Joyce Gaw, Aidaine Krishia Laxa, Juvenile Faye Crisostomo, Janna Dominique Oliva, Baby Jessica Canabal, and Realis Tabiando. Pigeon Lobien



Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


The latest news from luzon. Timely. Accurate. Fair.

Chinabank Net Income Jumps 18% to P5.9B in Q1

China Banking Corporation (Chinabank, PSE symbol: CHIB) earned P5.9 billion in the first quarter of 2024, 18% higher compared to the same period last year, on the robust growth of

The Indian Invasion

In the municipality of Budol, Mayor Bitong Bigote just filed his Certificate of Candidacy (CoC), hoping to be re-elected.  He is famous for his long bushy mustache.  According to him,