Scholarship for advanced studies set for Baguio teachers

SLU President Father Gilbert Sales. Photo from SLU Facebook page

The Commission on Higher Education – Cordillera Administrative Region (CHED-CAR) agreed with the city’s biggest universities to provide scholarship for teachers pursuing higher education.

In signing the memorandum of agreement as Delivering Higher Education Institution (DHEI) for the Scholarship for Instructors’ Knowledge Advancement Program (SIKAP) Grant last January 28 at the CHED-CAR Conference Room, teachers from the Saint Louis University, University of Baguio and University of the Cordilleras will get funding to pursue the programs on full time and part time basis.

Full-time scholars must commit to pursuing the program on full-time study and part-time scholars must commit to having a maximum of 12 units of teaching load or 20 hours of work per week in no case greater than any of the two conditions.

The financial privileges are Masters full-time scholars actual tuition and other fees, while the living allowance for full-time masters is P25,000/month and P12,500/month for part-time, for a full-time doctorate is P33,000/month and P16,500 for part-time.

There is also a book allowance and transportation assistance for scholars studying outside their province: P12,000 for full-time scholars while P6,000 for part-time scholars. Additional privilege is the thesis allowance which is P50,000 and dissertation allowance of P100,000.

SIKAP Grant is under CHED K to 12 Transition Program Management Unit (TPMU).

The Permanent Alternate Focal Person of CHED CAR K to 12 PMU is Dr. Mariano D. Marchan Jr. and the project technical staff are Eileen Aguirre, Bender Ambas, Clarrence Kate Malao, Lynette Cholin and Jerome Quitola.

The MOA was signed by CHED – CAR OIC Dr. Danilo B. Bose, with SLU represented by Dr. Jeffrey Centeño, Executive Assistant to the President, and Dr. Cecilia Mercado, Dean for Advance Studies and Grant Administrator; UB represented by Dr. Janice Kaylyn Lonogan; Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Aida Dapiawen; Dr. Kareen Leon; Dr. Charesma Grace Lud-ayen; deans from the different colleges of the University; and, UC represented by President Dr. Nancy Flores and Vice President of Administration Dr. Rhodora Ngolob.

The grant provides opportunities for HEI teaching personnel, or former HEI teaching personnel who wish to go back to the academic to acquire an advanced degree. HEI teaching personnel may apply as SIKAP Grant Scholar, provided they qualify in the eligibility criteria and qualifying and selection process.

The eligibility requirements are: must be a Filipino citizen, employed as teaching personnel in an HEI, or have been employed as teaching u for the last 12 months at the time of application, does not hold full-time employment in any government agency or a private company which is not an HEI.



Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


The latest news from luzon. Timely. Accurate. Fair.

Chinabank Net Income Jumps 18% to P5.9B in Q1

China Banking Corporation (Chinabank, PSE symbol: CHIB) earned P5.9 billion in the first quarter of 2024, 18% higher compared to the same period last year, on the robust growth of

The Indian Invasion

In the municipality of Budol, Mayor Bitong Bigote just filed his Certificate of Candidacy (CoC), hoping to be re-elected.  He is famous for his long bushy mustache.  According to him,