S’woods wins Fil Champ, Time Logistics eke out Am Champ win

It was a walk in the park for Manila Southwoods, but it was a struggle for Time Cargo Logistics which literally went through the needles eye to win the Am Championships of the 71st Fil-Am Invitational Golf Tournament today.

Manila Southwoods closed out with 122 for a four day total of 504 and 32 point win over Luisita Golf and Country Club which came out with a 121 and a 472 total in a Fil-Am which followed strict health protocol due to the Covid-19 pandemic and at least three antigen tests for the 388 players in the six day tournament.

Ryan Mosalve led the Carmona, Laguna based team with a one over 35 at the Vaguio Country Club even as Sean Ramos and Ivan Monsalve accounted for 32 and 29, respectively for the team which got a pair of 26s from Masaichi Otake and Lsnce Uy, one of which did not count.

Jed Dy made a team flight best and Baguio Country Club’s best score of 37 to lead Luisita to 121 for the team’s 472 total and runner up finish in the premiere Fil Champship.

Scoring for the team are Jet Hernandez with 30, 25 from Gabriel Manotoc and 25 from Leandro Bagtas.

After trailing third round leader Forest Hillls by four points, Time Cargo Logistics came back strong on the last day of tournament to score 99 and escape with six shot victory in the Am Championship.

Gary Sales led with 28, Junjun Plana chipped 26, while Ruel Cabral and Rustico Bayani, Jr. added 23 and 22, respectively for Tome Cargo which finished with 419 aggregate.

Forest Hills managed a measly 89 for a 413 total on the 31 of Jose Inigo, 25 of Augusto Pacheco, 21 of Rodel Mangulabnan and 12 from Dennis Nicomedes.

X1R Mizunon settled with 91 en route to 406 to finish third place.

Meanwhile, Camp John Hay closed wirh 97 for 430 points and a 34 point win in Fil A. Srixion closed with 96 and 396 total, while Benlife had an 87 for a 388 total which is good for third place.

In Am A, Baguio Countryh Club closed with a 95 for 381 and a 40 point win over Baguio Blue Bloods Eagles which had 71 and 341. A-1 Driving Team finished third after a 65 and 301.

In Fil B, Club Salami finished with an 85 for 323 and a 13 point win over Team Surigao came out with the flight best 98 but way short to claim second place with 310.

Mountaineers Golf Club finished third with 293 after a 72.

Nueva Ecija’s Square and Compass took the Fil C top trophy after winning by six shots on Isabela Golf Team.

Square and Compass finished with a 72 for 299 points, while Isabela had a 69 for 293 and second place finish. Razcals I salvaged third place after a 61 and 282.

Manila Southwoods, meanwhile, took the Seniors Fil Championship crown by 25 points over co-host CJH team

Southwoods closed with 114 and 423 total, while CJH had 111 and 398 for second place.

Co-host BCC finished third with 355 after a 104.

Drajdan had a 25 point victory over CJH Hotels. Drajdan scored 95 points on the last day for 330, while CJH Hotels had 83 and 305 total.

Residences at Brent finished third after a 66 less peantly and 273.

EK Amigos weathered a last round rally by Baguio City Golf Team and win Seniors Am A by 276.

The Amigos eneded with 61 for a seven shot win over first round leader Baguio City.

LMG Construction finished third with 268 after a 61.

Team Mcder slowed down with 59 and 269 to win Fil B by 24 points over IGC Seniors – Xentromallwhich had a 65 and 245 actually in tie with Yutong Philippines which finished with 73.

IGC Senior took the higher spot as Yutong had no fifth player in the five to play four to count tournament.

Meanwhile, Ryan Monsalve edged Southwoods teammate Ramos for the Fil Champ individual crown. Monsalve closed with 35 and 130, while Ramos had 32 for 129.

Richard delos Santos of Batangas Barakos finished tied with Junjun Plana of champion Time Cargo at 1323 but won via countback with his 33 on the penultimate round against Plana’s 26.

Group 2 honors went to Yancy Siladan of Benlife with 115 points, Group 3 to Goody Ignacio of BCC with 104and Marty Manayos of Razcals I taking the Group 3 frown with 71.

Raul Monoza of Southwoods walked away with the Seniors Group 1 title with 124 points, Rudy Lockey of CJH the Group 2 title with 104 and Larry Mendoza of EK Amigos the Group 3 crown with 85 points.



Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


The latest news from luzon. Timely. Accurate. Fair.

Chinabank Net Income Jumps 18% to P5.9B in Q1

China Banking Corporation (Chinabank, PSE symbol: CHIB) earned P5.9 billion in the first quarter of 2024, 18% higher compared to the same period last year, on the robust growth of

The Indian Invasion

In the municipality of Budol, Mayor Bitong Bigote just filed his Certificate of Candidacy (CoC), hoping to be re-elected.  He is famous for his long bushy mustache.  According to him,