Valley boxing promoter named manager of year, 4 of his wards receive Elorde Awards citations

WITH ANOTHER LEGEND. Darwin Miller Dep-ay, middle, and WBC Asia South bantamweight king Arthur Villanueva, left, pose with four weight division world champion Nonito Donaire during the Gabriel “Flash” Elorde Boxing Awards Banquet of Champions ceremony last March 25 at the Okada Manila Grand Ballroom in Paranaque. Dep-ay was named manager of the year, while four of his wards were recognized for their feats in boxing. From DMAD FB Page

The country’s youngest promoter, Darwin Miller Dep-ay, received his very first citation as manager of four boxing champions.

Dep-ay joined four of his wards during the Gabriel “Flash” Elorde Boxing Awards Banquet of Champions ceremony last March 25 at the Okada Manila Grand Ballroom in Paranaque that recognized professional and amateur boxers as well as those behind the prizefighters.

Dep-ay received his awards along with the Ipugo warrior KJ Natuplag the WBC ABCO featherweight champion, Arthur Villanueva, the WBC Asia South bantamweight chamion, Genesis Libranza, the hiliine flyweight champion in 2019 and Ador Torres, the ABF welterweight king last year.

Also given recognition is World Boxing Association – Asia and International Boxing Federation – Pan Pacific king Carl Jammes Martin, the latter he took in December last year in La Trindad, Benguet.

It was the resumption of the annual awards started in 2000 by the family of the late legendary world champion. It was stopped due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

With its resumption, the family led by Johnny, one of the late boxer’s seven children, led in naming eight weight division world champion Manny Pacquaio and four weight division king Nonito Donaire be given the Special Award for Distinction despite already elevated to the awards Hall of Fame.

Seven boxers were named the best of the year headed by 2019, 2020 and 2021 IBF super flyweight champion Jerwin Ancajas, 2019, 2020 and 2021 WBO bantamweight champion Johnriel Casimero, 2019 and 2020 IBF minimum weight titleholder Pedro Taduran, 2021 and 2022 IBF minimum weight champion Rene Mark Cuarto, 2022 WBC featherweight champion Mark Magsayo, reigning IBO flyweight champion Dave Apolinario and 2019 and 2021 WBO and WBA minimum weight champion Vic Saludar.

Also honored were Olymics medalist Nesthy Petecio, Carlo Paalam and Eumir Marcial and the 2021 Southeast Asian boxing medalists.

Dep-ay considered 2022 as his banner year when he staged the biggest fight in La Trindad or this part of the country when Martin fought Kongrich Nantapech for the IBF Pan Pacific super bantamweight title where the Ifugao won via a fourth round knockout over the one time world contender.

The event was also a celebration of the 88th birthday of Filipino ring legend  and a tribute to the matriarch Laura Elorde, the wife of Gabriel, who died peacefully in May 2020 at the Elorde residence in Paranaque City.

The first Elorde Awards started in 2000 at the Manila Hotel. Pigeon Lobien



Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


The latest news from luzon. Timely. Accurate. Fair.

Chinabank Net Income Jumps 18% to P5.9B in Q1

China Banking Corporation (Chinabank, PSE symbol: CHIB) earned P5.9 billion in the first quarter of 2024, 18% higher compared to the same period last year, on the robust growth of

The Indian Invasion

In the municipality of Budol, Mayor Bitong Bigote just filed his Certificate of Candidacy (CoC), hoping to be re-elected.  He is famous for his long bushy mustache.  According to him,